Tuesday, September 25, 2007

[Rules] Criticals

A 20 on a d20 (or l8, or 19 depending on the weapon) only gives you a threat of a critical, not an actual critical. If you threaten critical, all it means is you roll again and if you hit, then you get your critical.
I think my minons might have lasted longer had we played the rules correctly!!

5 comments:

Insanodag said...

That is how it worked in Ad&D 2.5, now that you mention it, so it is probably right.

Mendez said...

Looking at the combat rules, I think I'm going to need all the help I can get.
Everyone try to learn a bit about combat and we'll pool our knowledge come the game.
Thanks.

robogeek said...

Please do help! Read and share knowledge.

Combat can be incredibly complicated in 3.5, especially if people start using the juicy bits of the rules, e.g. sunder, disarm, trip, flank, sneak attack etc.

Mendez said...

Well as long as the player wanting to do something clever-dicky can explain it, it's OK with me.

Eolar said...

And I thought I just have to run forward (accompanied by the donkey with the great bite) and bring down the mace as hard as possible.....
You can do clever things, too?? ;-)
I definitely will read a bit more!